04/14/2008, 6:00pm, EDT
Monday, April 14th
Psystar claims to offer $400 Mac clone [U]
A company called Psystar claims it will soon deliver a $400 Mac clone, based around a 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with integrated Intel GMA 950 graphics. Stating that the machine will be compatible with Leopard (Mac OS X 10.5), the company says it will pre-install the OS and include a special restoration disc, alongside the genuine installation disc. The legality of Psystar's operation is dubious, as Apple's Mac OS X license explicitly states that the software can only be installed and used on an Apple-labeled computer, specifically stating "You agree not to install, use or run the Apple Software on any non-Apple-labeled computer, or to enable others to do so."
The alleged $400 system will purportedly also include 2GB of DDR2 667 memory, a 20x DVD+/-R SATA drive that is Lightscribe-capable, and 4 rear-mounted USB Ports.
Psystar's website is currently inaccessible.
Update: A MacNN reader has informed us that orders for the computers are still active, with a representative of the company stating that the mere influx of users wanting to see the computer crippled its servers temporarily.
Filed under: Apple
Other story tags: Mac OS X, Core 2, Leopard, Mac, Core 2 Duo, clone
,
, 17
,
,
,
,
,

subscribe to comments
for this article
There's always gotta be one chinese company trying its hand at cloning the Mac.
http://www.macobserver.com/article/2008/04/14.4.shtml
http://blogs.pcworld.com/staffblog/archives/006792.html
http://www.engadget.com/2008/04/14/psystars-openmac-clone-is-close-to-a-cease-and-desist-order/
Anyone who orders one of these deserves to be scammed.
Doofuses.
Now the Mac OS X EULA will be tested: I have a PC that I want to install OS X on, but can't because it's a violation of the Leopard EULA EULA, even though I have 1 more install on my Leopard family-pack. It's legally mine, I bought it...why can't I install it on whatever computer I want? Fair use again.
I actually hope Apple loses this one, I must say.