04/17/2008, 9:00pm, EDT
Thursday, April 17th
Psystar violates EFI firmware license
The ongoing Psystar situation has revealed that the company is not only breaching Apple's license agreement, but also that of the EFI firmware emulation utility it uses to fool Leopard into installing. MacUser UK reports that Psystar is using the EFI v8 emulator without proper admission of the author, Netkas, and in clear violation of the software's license, which reads "Redistribution and use in binary form for direct or indirect commercial purposes, with or without modification, is stricktly (sic) forbidden."
Aside from a questionable explanation from Psystar, little has been said by the company to debunk rumors, and even more puzzling still is Apple's silence on the matter. Psystar has also been quite elusive and mysterious, by suddenly switching operating addresses to locations that don't appear to have anything to do with the company, and a distinct lack of history.
Filed under: computers, industry, software, Apple
Other story tags: Leopard, Psystar, EFI V8
,
, 13
,
,
,
,
,

subscribe to comments
for this article
Shift a few paragraphs around, replace a coupe of words - and presto, a brand new story, worthy of the MacNN journalistic excellence.
Right?
Everyone is looking to Apple for their reaction. What is so puzzling? From Apple's perspective, there's nothing to react to! What are they supposed to do? Shake their angry fist and say, "You better not!!!"
*If* Psystar actually releases something, it's a job for the lawyers and no one else. But frankly, my bet is the whole thing is a hoax-- reminds me of that hoax back in the 90's where a couple of guys had the industry on its' ear because they claimed to have beaten Apple out with a Mac OS X clone before Apple themselves released X.
If these guys aren't selling computers there's nothing to worry about. I'd be curious if anybody out there actually has a Psystar machine that runs Leopard.
Try a k car next to a bimmer?
right up his alley.
nothing on the site actually works or requires any real programming. the writing is a joke. clearly not a professional business. they can't process credit cards right now, because "their payment processor dropped the ball on us". someone set them up the bomb!
the "create account/account login" is featured prominently on every page, yet the 'form action', which should call to some logic or CGI, is just a reload of the same html page.... which means, it's fake. there is no account creation. it's all for show.
psystar appears to be run by:
Pedraza, Rodolfo rp@PSYSTAR.COM 3401 SW 104 CT Miami, FL 33165 US Phone: 3053566666 Fax: 3053575555
he also owns other domains that go nowhere/do nothing. some resolving to panama. the nameservers for psystar are also reg'd by rodolfo. if you map the address, it appears to be a small house in a residential area. real professional.
this "business" is a scam, likely trying to phish for CC #s.
technology blogs/new sites that can't undertake even the most rudimentary investigation before reporting should STFU.